US Relay Implodes Yet Again
August 29, 2015
Yet again, the US has performed
disasterously in a sprint relay
replicating the men's 4x100 at the World
Championships of 1995, '97, 2001, '05, '09,
and '11 together with the Olympics of '08 where
those U.S. men’s 4×100 team were
disqualified or failed to finish, typically
because of a dropped baton.
The U.S. women's 4x100 teams met similar fates in the World Championships of 2001 and '09 as well as the Olympics of '04 and '08.
This time around, the men's 4x100 was DQ'd for an out of the zone handoff from Number 3 Runner Tyson Gay and Anchor Mike Rogers. Even without the DQ the performance was destined to fail against the powerful Jamaican team because of the less than satisfactory stickwork.
Note: In the linked video the baton transfer rule is seemingly misstated by the announcers when considering the positions of the runners rather than the baton itself. The actual controlling rule, IAAF Rule 170.7, states:
The baton shall be passed within the takeover zone. The passing of the baton commences when it is first touched by the receiving athlete and is completed the moment it is in the hand of only the receiving athlete. In relation to the takeover zone, it is only the position of the baton which is decisive. Passing of the baton outside the takeover zone shall result in disqualification.
Race Video USAToday Article